Library Back: A Haiku Trilogy

I am back once more with some reflections on dissertation writing. Truly, this is some of my most profound work. I hope these sparse lines offer you the comfort of commiseration if you are also suffering from such misery. I am no doctor, but I am sure that the infamous ‘Library Back’ is one of the most damaging health phenomenons currently facing humanity.

* * *

I.

The price of long days

Paid through this pain in my spine

Will I ever move?

 

II.

My dissertation

Surrounds my body in chains

I cannot escape

 

III.

Motionless I sit

Typing nothing, everything

My back is a mess

One thought on “Library Back: A Haiku Trilogy

  1. 1.

    Sad thesis writing

    All days roll into one day

    I am in actual hell

    2.

    Sad library days,

    They say writing is hard but

    Sitting is harder

    3.

    What is a thesis

    But a clutter of crap words,

    Does yours make any sense?

    4.

    How many words left

    What the fuck is going on

    Word count: thirty-two

    5.

    Too depressed to write,

    Will it ever be over

    Maybe I’m hungry

    6.

    Cusp of lunacy

    Pages blending together

    Page one is page ten

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment